I tend to be one of those people who simply must unload when I'm irritated by something (which, unfortunately for people who know me, tends to happen about 99 44/100th percent of the time). I generally avoid direct confrontation as much as possible - which is extremely difficult given I work with the largest group of nincompoops ever assembled in one company. So whenever I'm frustrated, I feel compelled to update my status on Facebook.
Sara is: wondering why English proves so challenging to native speakers.
Sara is: not suffering fools gladly.
Sara is: sitting at CVG about to get bumped from my flight.
Sara is: sitting in PHL waiting on a delayed US Airways flight. Quelle surprise.
Sara is: still not suffering fools gladly.
Just a few recent samples of FB statuses. Seeing the theme? Only there's a meta-theme to my theme. I actually can't say what I want to say in my status...because I was stupid enough to let work people friend me on FB. This was back in my early days of FB, back before everyone and his mom (literally) got on, so I didn't have a well thought out strategy on using the tool. And even my company has really gotten into FB...during our big annual user conference, there were fan pages and status updates and blast messages each and every day for the 5 days of the conference. Don't get me started (no really, don't, because they jumped right on Twitter too...and so that's forever ruined for me too).
Worse though - many people who actually work for me are friends with me on FB. So even though at least 5 times a day I am left, mouth hanging agape, wondering how some people could be both simultaneously utterly needy and entirely self-righteous, I sure can't comment about anything very directly on FB, or else I'd soon have a mutiny on my hands. And the icing on the cake was when one of my employees actually de-friended me when she was angry someone else in the department got the promotion she thought she deserved (despite being in her current position a whole 7 months...what was I saying about self-righteous? Oh, I digress...).
My point is this - I think I've utterly ruined FB for myself, and so I sit fairly dormant on it most days. I might put up a bland update like "Sara is going to dinner at Nicola's for Restaurant Week," or I become a fan of Domo-kun, or something equally titilating. But essentially, it's a useless tool for me because I can't really be me on there, and I actually wish I could exclude a huge part of my life from my profile. I've read about people who have a personal FB page and a professional FB page...but frankly, that seems like an awful lot of work, and I think I'm either FB lazy or disinterested or maybe both.
So a blog it is - and it will be here that I spout off about what I'm thinking, what may be causing the latest angst, or what I'm trying to do to work through any of it. But I'm curious if anyone else has sorted out this particular circumstance or if FB has become so passe as to not even bother worrying with it.
NB: I like FB mainly for one thing these days - all kinds of crazy updates and sneak peeks of True Blood. And I would fan that stuff to death on FB, except that it would make all of my employees think I'm some vampire-obssessed weirdo. Which I probably am. But they don't need to know that.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

I shot myself in the Facebook foot too and have chosen the same coping mechanism - a blog. I actually have 2 blogs though. My everyday life one, which is the one I'm commenting from right now, and my anonymous work one, which I've managed to keep secret from everybody except my fiance. The secret blog is where I really tear people to shreds. I don't think anybody actually reads it and I don't really care. It's very therapeutic for me and that's really all that matters.
ReplyDelete